## **Public Document Pack**



Notice of Meeting:

# Council

**Meeting Location:** 

Council Chamber, Ealing Town Hall, New Broadway, Ealing W5 2BY

**Date and Time:** 

Wednesday, 8 March 2023 at 7.00 pm

**Contact for Enquiries:** 

Email: democraticservices@ealing.gov.uk

Telephone: 020 8825 6253

**Chief Executive:** 

**Tony Clements** 

This meeting will be held in public. If you would like attend in person and have any special requirements in order to attend, please email democraticservices@ealing.gov.uk or telephone on 020 8825 6253 at least three clear working days in advance wherever possible.

### **Committee Membership: Councillors**

M Ahmed, S Ahmed, J Anand, P Anand, J Ball, J Blacker, G Busuttil, J Gallant, K Sahota, K Bains, C Anderson, T Sidhu, B Rai, R Dheer, B Mahfouz, C Summers, L Brett, D Crawford, A Young, P Driscoll, V Alexander, Y Gordon, H Haili, M Hamidi, B Hashani, C Hersch, M Iqbal, A Jammu, S Jassal, Y Johnson, H Kaur Dheer, A Kelly, S Khan, I Kingston, P Knewstub, S Kohli, S Kumar, K Dhindsa, T Mahmood, G Malcolm, S Manro, D Martin, J Martin, P Mason, M Midha (Mayor), F Mohamed, K Mohan, G Murtaza, K K Nagpal, K Nagpal, I Nijhar, S Padda, G Quansah, F Conti, A Raza, M Rice, R Baaklini, C Sharma, G Shaw, D Costigan, G Stafford, A Steed, K Crawford, H Tailor (Deputy Mayor), C Tighe, L Wall, R Wall, B Wesson, S Donnelly and A Zissimos

# **AGENDA**

1 Briefing Note (Pages 3 - 6)

Published: Tuesday, 28 February 2023

Welcome & Prayers	Before the meeting formally begins, Father Eugenio from the Ukrainian Orthodox Autocephalic Church in Acton will lead us in Prayer.
Item 1	Apologies for Absence & Attendance
	Apologies for absence have been received by Councillors:
Item 2	Declarations of Interest
	Members to make any declarations of interest
Item 3	Minutes of the meeting held on 13 December 2022
Page 5-20	Minutes are presented for approval.
Item 4	Mayor's Announcements
	The Mayor will update the Council on important civic events.
Item 5	Petitions From Members of the Public
	There are none.
Item 6	Petitions from Members of the Council
	There are none.
Item 7	Questions from Members of the Public
	Joe Stean will ask a question of Councillor Costigan.
Item 8	Questions from Members of the Council
	30 minutes in total allowed for questions.
	Any response to a question must not exceed 3 minutes.
	Supplementary questions must relate to the original question or from the answer given.
	Running Order:
	<ol> <li>Councillor Brett to Councillor Manro</li> <li>Councillor Hersch to Councillor Manro</li> <li>Councillor Young to Councillor Costigan</li> </ol>

# Mayor's Notes - Council 8 March 2023

	4. Councillor Hamidi to Councillor Costigan
	5. Councillor Gallant to Councillor Manro
	6. Councillor Mohamed to Councillor Raza
	7. Councillor Mahmood to Councillor Nagpal
Item 9	2023-24 Budget Strategy and Council Tax Resolution
Pages 23-288	2023-24 Budget Strategy and Council Tax Resolution
rages 25-200	Councillor Shaw to move a procedural motion to allow longer speeches for the first speaker from each group.
	The Mayor to move a procedural motion to allow Councillor Young to sit down when making his speech, if necessary.
	Order of debate:
	<ol> <li>Councillor Donnelly (Proposer – 8 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Mason (Second, but not speak)</li> <li>Councillor Busuttil (Opposition Spokesperson, Move amendment - 8 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Malcolm (Second amendment, but not speak)</li> <li>Councillor Young (Second Opposition Spokesperson - 8 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Baaklini (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Kamaljit Kaur Nagpal (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Malcolm (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Kelly (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Haili (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Gallant (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Costigan(3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Knewstub (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Ball (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Bains (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Quansah (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Vanderson (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Anderson (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Manro (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Steed (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Mahfouz (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Johnson (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Johnson (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Conti (3 minutes)</li> <li>Councillor Driscoll(3 minutes)</li> </ol>
	26.Councillor Blacker (3 minutes) 27.Councillor Rice (3 minutes)
	28.Councillor Raza (3 minutes) 29.Councillor Busuttil (Sum up amendment – 3 minutes) 30.Councillor Donnelly (Sum up – 3 minutes)
	At the end of the debate a recorded vote will be taken on the amendment and then the motion.
Item 10	2023-24 Members Allowances Scheme
TIGIII TO	2025-24 Mellibers Allowalices Schellie

## Mayor's Notes - Council 8 March 2023

Pages 283- 312	The members allowances scheme is presented for approval.
Item 11	2023-24 Pay Policy Statement
Pages 293- 322	The Pay Policy Statement is presented for approval.
Item 12	Appointments to Committees and Other Bodies
	There are no appointments to Committees and Other Bodies.
Item 13	Urgent Key Decisions Exempted from Call-in
	There were no urgent key decisions exempted from call-in.
Item 14	Cabinet Portfolio Update
	The Cabinet Portfolio Update is presented for noting.

